A new chapter: Starting my backend development  journey with C# .NET

Photo by Axel Holen on Unsplash

A new chapter: Starting my backend development journey with C# .NET

Software development is a fast-evolving field, with new tools being created every day to satisfy the business needs of customers in an ever-growing digital world.

I started my coding journey by learning frontend web development, but the journey didn't end there, I still looked forward to improving my skills.

So, to expand my skill set, I recently took it upon myself to learn backend development with C# .NET, and just as I began my journey, I came across the EGabriel .NET Bootcamp in a Nigerian Developer Community and enrolled in it. The boot camp solely focuses on using the C# programming language for backend development and implementation of APIs, microservices, Messaging services, Generic repositories and architectures and using other tools like Dapper, Docker, and RabbitMQ to build services using the technologies and concepts.

What I aim to achieve in the boot camp

Below are some of the goals I plan to achieve on enrolling for the Egabriel bootcamp

  • Having a strong knowledge of backend development concepts like caching, Web Security, HTTP

  • Understanding and knowing how to implement software design patterns/architectures (Onion/Clean)

  • Sharpening my C# programming skills and my knowledge of the .NET ecosystem

  • Learning other tools like RabbitMQ, dapper for .NET development

  • Connecting with other developers

How I plan to achieve the goals

To achieve my goals for this boot camp and track my progress, I need to create a plan, hence below are my plans for achieving the goals I have set .

  • Committing about 3 to 4 hours everyday learning and coding

  • Revising the fundamental daily to deepen understanding

  • Actively participating in coding challenges,

  • Doing extensive research, reading documentation, and then reaching out to mentors and peers for help when I face obstacles

  • Learning and being open to feedback from mentors and peers

Conclusion

Starting a new chapter in my software development journey is truly not an easy one, it demands devoting time and energy and being consistent, in all trusting the process is key. Stay tuned and follow me to keep up with me i this new chapter of my software development journey!